A little perspective

June 28, 2006 at 1:32 pm | Posted in Check out this blog | Leave a comment

I’m feeling a bit down on myself today having returned from the disgusting task of bathing suit shopping.  Viewing all the cellulite and varicose veins on my body and coming to terms with the fact that the best suit that fit me was actually a maternity suit.  So I’m down on me, feeling sorry for me and my ugly body knowing full well that a little restraint in the eating department and increase in physical activity would certainly do a world of good to lift my spirits.  It’s all in my control – I have the power to change how I look and feel.

So I decided to surf some blogs I like to read and as commonly happens, I found myself way off track from my original search and landed at Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep.  This is a non-profit organization that specializes in infant bereavement photography to help create memories for parents experiencing the death of a baby.  The site contains beautiful images of families preserving the moments they share together.  It is highly moving and the images are real so please if you decide to visit the site, be aware you may not leave it the same person you are prior to visiting. 

Many of the infertile blogs I visit deal with loss of a child, something I cannot even fathom.  In fact to this day I am grateful that I never experienced a miscarriage especially after having Sophie.  I cannot imagine the depth of loss one must feel and perhaps always wondering what would my child be like if they had survived.

I think most people come to terms with this loss and take heart in thinking that it’s God’s way.  But for me, I would always be torn apart by that loss. Just visiting this website brought me to tears and I cannot imagine the strength these families have to hold them together.  I hope no one you know, or you yourself, are ever in need of these services.  But if you do, or someone you know and love does, I hope you remember this site and help them preserve these precious memories.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

