Baby, baby falling in love….

July 25, 2006 at 8:35 pm | Posted in Adoption Updates | 2 Comments

‘Member how I told you I almost always have a song in my head?  Well this week it happens to be this gem by Hamilton, Joe Frank & Reynolds.  Don’t know them?  They also brought us Don’t Pull Your Love…I had always kinda liked this song but never knew who sang it.  Now I think I know why.  You may not remember either of these songs, not that I do first hand mind you…I’m not that old.  But my parents always had music playing so my repertoire is quite large. 

Ah….I digress…back to my original point…falling in love.  A couple of weeks ago I was invited to a baby shower to welcome the amazing Eva into our family.  We happened to have a second party to attend so I opted to leave Sophie home and make a quick appearance at the shower solo.  Driving….with real music on…as loud as I wanted….aahhhh….it was nice. 

As I was getting closer to cousin Beth’s house I started really thinking about the shower and what it meant.  The culmination of a long journey both here and abroad.  Three people brought together by fate or some divine intervention…the making of a family. 

I started to think about Brother and if he was born yet.  Wondering what he is going to look like, when we will get to see our first glimpse of him, what will it feel like to know he is waiting for us, how hard will it be to wait to hold him in our arms, will we love him, will we love him the same as Sophie?  And I found myself tearing up…the emotion was so overwhelming I was surprised.  Here I was about to come face to face with my first adoptive family that was so very close to us.  I was going to see how real it is.  How it really works and children do come home to build a family.  How the love grows between people who don’t share genetics but share a need and desire to love and be loved.  And it was just about all I could take to pull myself together so as not to scare my family into thinking I had finally gone off the edge. But I haven’t fallen off the edge…I’ve fallen in love.  And he is waiting for us….and soon we will know who he is.  I didn’t think it was possible to love someone I haven’t seen or don’t know.  It was one of the biggest obstacles I had to face before beginning our adoption journey.  I can tell you now, now that we are so close to finding out who will become a member of our family that I have fallen.  And fallen hard.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. A. I am old enough to know ALL the words to both of those songs.

    and

    B. I am all verklempt thinking about how all of this must be so very hard and so very joyful for you at the same time.

    We already love Brother too.

  2. Of course I can remember the words but I am never sure if it is Hall and Oates or who! I saw Terah’s excitement today and can’t wait for it to be your turn! We all love him!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

