Mr. Sandman

April 10, 2007 at 6:23 am | Posted in Dreams | 3 Comments

I’ve had several variations of this dream 3 or 4 times over the last 8 or so months but the central theme is the same.  It’s my friends and I on a cruise ship sailing to some foreign destination.  The major issue/theme is that I have become separated from them.  It has manifested itself in terms of me finding my room but not being able to find theirs or them having gone ashore without me.  There usually is a point towards the end of the dream where we do connect but they have hardly even noticed that I haven’t been around nor are they distressed that I’ve been searching for them. 

 I’ve pretty much boiled this one down to my changing role as a parent of two coupled with the busy lives we all lead.  With many children amongst us that are very busy in a plethora of activities, we are lucky to see each other once a year around the Christmas holidays.

But riddle me this Batman, what the hell does it mean when after reuniting with my friends in my latest installment I observe a cook in an open grill restaurant throwing live baby pigs onto a scalding hot grill to cook?  The last of which failing to fall onto its side thus dying rather promptly is actually running in place to escape the burning heat on it’s little feet.  When appearing defeated by the little porker, the chef throws hot grease on the piglet claiming his final victim.

I swear…I didn’t drink before I went to bed.  Honest.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It’s just a bad combination of the ham you ate for Easter and all the PETA ads you see…yeah…that’s it….right? 🙂

  2. .. it has to be a brain tumor.

  3. I venture to add something more philisophical.

    Maybe you are thinking about the life that Henry might have had and that searching for him and bringing him into your family has saved him, but from what? What life might he had if he had stayed in korea and not joined your family? I think many adoptive parents think about if they are the right ones for their children and what would be if they had not been the ones?

    Keepping our children safe from harm when the world seems pretty blaise about the care of children and their welfare in general is enough to make any parent squirm. The indiffernce of our nation to children in need here and all over the world is pretty hard core.

    OR maybe you are the baby pigs and are watching outside your self as you try to live your life but others have different plans for you…like you want to live and they want to make you the dinner? Feeling raw and threatened lately? Too much going on? Losing your innocence in parenting?

    ALSo, keep in mind that sleep deprivation deprives you not only of rest but also of our brains ablility to dream and work out our subconscious. If you have been not sleeping well and then all of a sudden have a night of heavy dreaming it might mean you are catchng up on your sleep. As we dream we cycle through the phases of sleep from light, to deeper, deeper still and deepest and then deeper to lighter and then we REM and then it starts all over again. Imagine the phases as numbers and it goes like this…Phase 1, 2, 3.4 3, 2 REM, 2,3 ,4 , 3, 2 REM, ect…each time you cycle into another REM phase it lasts longer than the one before. If you wake up and remember your dreams you probably woke up before you were suppose to and woke up while in a deep phase of sleep or sleeping more cycles. Nursing school is very interesting. I realize only to me. I will stop babbling. now.


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.