At A Minimum

November 20, 2007 at 8:30 am | Posted in General Junk | 2 Comments

Two weeks ago I visited the eye doctor for my annual check and splurged on a new pair of specs.  Seems I’ve been wearing my glasses more and more lately and it has been quite a long time since I bought a new pair.  So while chatting up the gal who sits at the front desk and browsing over the literally tens of thousands of frames to choose from, I heard something slip from my mouth that got me thinking.

I mentioned out loud that being a stay-at-home-mom of two small kids meant that sometimes certain things had to go by the wayside.  One of the first things to go was the time to put in my contact lenses because glasses are so much easier to throw on.  One time waster out of my way is a big deal…all you parents know that.  Heck, any busy person knows that.

So what got me thinking was how my idea of minimums have changed since I’ve become a parent.   I can remember a time when I didn’t dare step into public unless I had applied a minimum amount of make-up so as not to appear completely without life.  I never, ever left the house in sweat pants.  There were always comfy jeans or capri’s to pull on so as to appear somewhat put together.   Mind you, I am no fashionista by ANY MEANS but I had to feel somewhat human even if only to blend in with the masses.  If I were ever desperate enough to leave my house without showering (usually for a hung-over trek to Burger King for grease and carbonation) I would pull on a baseball hat so low as to almost cover my eyes to avoid any sideways glances from strangers or even worse, someone I might actually know.

Then came parenthood.  I remember talking to friends who had kids before me stating that a good day when  a new baby was home was being able to take a shower.  For the life of me I could not fathom not being able to take a shower with a baby that basically eats, sleeps and poops.  They sleep so there is obviously time for personal hygiene.  Right?  Ha ha hahahahahahahahah…..  So your expectation or need or downright desire to prepare yourself for public viewing changes dramatically.  I remember thinking wow….I got a shower today and that was seriously good news.

So kids grow and things get a bit easier but there are still minimum expectations I’ve set for myself.  Showers happen every other day for sure.  If I’m not showering then I need to at least take a straight iron to my hair to remove the majority of the tell-tale bed-head crinkles.  I brush my teeth every morning before we greet any member of the general public.  Make-up is completely optional but my glasses are a must have.  Especially the new ones.  And if I happen to catch any sideways glances or better yet run into anyone who knew me before children, I simply say to myself I’d much rather have two children in my life to worry about then worrying about what I might look like on the outside.  Because on the inside I’m shining and that’s all that really matters.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I must correct you…you shine on the inside AND the outside…always!

  2. I hear ya. I miss my wardrobe. OH, I still have it but have no occasion to wear it. Sometimes I go to class a little more decked out than normal, but eh, I am trying to live a little.

    I would rather sleep than do almost anything else so personal grooming, well, um, it comes last. Sleep and food.

    I love my glasses too. I got 2 pair for only 65 dollars this summer and love the options. I have a funky pair and a functional pair. Even when I skip mascara I still feel okay with my funky ones on.

    I think you have the prettiest hair ever. Thick, shiny and lovely. And you have cream colored skin. Pretty. I think you are pretty special inside and out.
    xx
    ps. I tagged you a week or so ago…catch up, mama.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

