Ten and Two

July 21, 2008 at 12:18 pm | Posted in Henry Stuff | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

I remember back to the days of drivers education, which I took through our High School, and I used to get teased for actually placing my hands and driving with them at Ten and Two.  I’m pretty sure it took me forever to get my actual license too because I was so afraid I would crash the car.  Following suit it has taken me too long to update the blog especially with birthday pictures.  Here goes:

We had a dual celebration this weekend on a much lower-key scale than in the past.  We even celebrated with each side of our families on different dates so we could really enjoy the company and experience and plus it just really worked out better this way for everyone.  So lets start with the Two:

Henry turned two on Friday.  I can’t believe it.  Two.  He seems bigger and younger at the same time.  I think because he came home at 7 months I have a skewed notion of how old he is/should be.  His two year check went well – he consistently tracks at the 25% for height and weight but that head…holding strong at 90%.  One day he may even be able to balance it atop his neck.  He is on the brink of a language explosion.  You can see the wheels turning when he wants to try to say something and if we can catch him in the right mood he’ll even try repeating words we say to him.  He is obsessed with cars: matchbox in particular and Ramone more specifically.  Sophie bought him a green one for his birthday and he has not let it out of his grasp for too long.  If you can see the tears on his cheeks in the picture below it is because I made him put Ramone down so he could eat a cupcake.  And if you know Henry, you know it takes A LOT to get between him and food:

And it didn’t take long for him to realize that the temporary trade of a car for food was a pretty good deal:

And now on to the Ten.  My nephew Brent turned ten on Saturday, hence the joint party.  Most of you don’t have the privilege of knowing this young man but if you did you would know he is thoughtful, smart, cerebral, artistic and funny.  I can’t believe he is ten and you can see glimpses of the man he will be in is changing face (well, not really this one):

And of course not to be overlooked by any means but honestly, the day wasn’t about them.  BUT there was a showing of the Tootie Nation in full force down to matching dresses that were purchased separately by the moms.  Once Sophie saw Reese wearing hers, there could be no denying that she must change.  Immediately.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It was a fun celebration, and generous of Brent to share the big day. I am so fortunate to have such a great family! From Gramma Betty at 90 to Henry at 2 it spans nearly a century.

  2. 1. you are soooooo pretty. SO PRETTY. Look at that fab profile looking at your lovely son? pretty!

    2. I love the Tootie Nation and fully support their party in the up coming election.

    3. I like cake. Frosting is my nemisis.

    4. I LOVE your title. I love the analogy of the opposites, holding on, drivers ed, learning about life, growing up…and how all of it changes our lives before we even can catch our breath and take stock.

    5. xxxxxx (the french kind) …(A’s mom, cover your eyes.)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

