Delusional Housewife

January 26, 2011 at 8:31 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

You know how when you were growing up and watching TV and you really kinda wanted Marcia Brady to be your best friend so you could get close and possibly date Peter?   How Mrs. Brady  seemed to really have all her shit together – even though Alice was probably the one doing all the work and all Mrs. Brady did was smile and look pretty?  I do. 

When it came time during high school to pick a college and figure out what you wanted to be when you grew up, nothing ever came to my mind.  There was nothing I could imagine doing for the rest of my adult life – except be a mom.  So when I got married and we decided it was time to have kids who would have thought that road would have been as hard as it was.  But we got there.   And I decided to stay home to be a housewife.   Really, I did.  And at first it was great.  But slowly, over time, the illusion of housewife bliss faded and the reality of my new life set in.  No pay.  Long hours.  No respect.   Assumption of additional duties with again, no additional pay.  It’s a life sentence this housewife thing and I’m convinced that Carol and Alice were sipping on the cooking sherry to make it through the days more times than not.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Carol was drunk all day… I am sure all those cups of coffee at the kitchen table were not good ol’ joe. Being a housewife/stay at home Mom…. now there is a subject for us to talk about over some beers next time I am in Chicago…

  2. dude


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

